Ace's View

Dedicated to minority issues, topics and everything in between

Iota (Sweetheart) Profile #8: Dance, Dance Rev-OW-lution

leave a comment »

Image

Editor’s Note: This young lady actually became a heart not far from where I currently reside, at Morehead State University in Kentucky.  Since then, she’s spread her wings and gained a reputation as a talented dancer, youth coach and mentor, and role model.  She has been a dancer for over two decades, but has a reputation among the Iota Family as one of the most down-to-earth, kindhearted people to wear brown and gold.  Which is probably why when it came to asking for Sweethearts to be featured here, I couldn’t resist including her on the first day of Iota Sweetheart profiles.

Siobhan St. John, enter stage right.

Please introduce yourself to the readers.

 My name is Siobhan St. John and I became an Iota Sweetheart at Morehead State University, Fall 2001, Gamma Theta chapter.

What drew your interest to Iota Phi Theta?

What drew my interest in becoming an Iota Sweetheart were the brothers and hearts I met on campus. Coming from New York and moving to Kentucky was a hard adjustment for me, but the brothers and hearts I made friends with really helped me out whenever I needed anything . It was forming those friendships that made me want to become an Iota Sweetheart.

What is your current job title/business, and why are you in that field?

I am currently a professional dancer and Coach of the New Rochelle Junior High Cheerleading Team. I have been a dancer for over 20 years and a coach for 12 years. I am passionate about both of my job fields and truly love working with children.

Please name one aspiration you hope to accomplish in the next 20 years.

One of my future aspirations I hope to accomplish within the next 20 years is writing and publishing a book about my journey through surviving childhood Cancer, and living out my dream.

How has Iota helped you in your endeavors, personal or professional?

Being an Iota Sweetheart has helped me network with people from all different cultural and professional backgrounds that I may have never come across. I have made lasting friendships and have met amazing men and women in the years that I have been a Sweetheart. Anytime I have been in another state, and have reached out to the Iota family, I’ve been greeted with love and generosity. The bonds I have made will last me a lifetime.

 What would you say to anyone considering membership in Iota Phi Theta/Iota Sweethearts?

For men considering membership in Iota Phi Theta, I’d say if they consider themselves as an innovator, trendsetter, leader, scholar, and want to be active in their community, then this is where they should be. For women who are interested in becoming an Iota Sweetheart, I’d tell them this is a sisterhood that is here to help the brothers of this amazing fraternity, and that they will form friendships that will last forever.

Image

 

(Images courtesy of Siobhan St. John-Facebook)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

