Ace's View

Dedicated to minority issues, topics and everything in between

28 Days

with 2 comments

Back sooner than I thought.  Surprised myself.

So I’m using this second entry to address something that I thought of this morning when I woke up and realized that today was the day I decided to start this blog, and probably by chance, but probably not:

It’s my favorite month of the year, and the shortest.

Black History Month.

That’s right, the time of year where I can post just about anything I want about black people, culture and things that pertain to us, without being frowned at, ignored, or pleaded with.

“Can’t that wait until February?”

(Yes, I actually have been asked that.  That’s a story for a whole ‘nother day this month.  And I will tell it.) 

But my Facebook timeline is full of Black History Month events at different colleges, forums that are going on in my hometown of Chicago, created graphics merging (insert civil rights leader/figure name here)’s picture with Barack’s, statuses ranging from thought provoking and insightful, to cliche, to slightly asinine and “man. You can’t be serious.”–

(I probably deleted 10 people today alone.  No offense, but you gotta be dumb off my page.)

–and yet, I am consistently reminded that for some reason, even though we got the short end of the stick when it comes to the number of days in the month we are officially designated to celebrate our history and culture, a lot of us are taking full advantage of it.

It’s why people like former Saturday Night Live comedienne Victoria Jackson (no, I am not an SNL fan, but I especially didn’t know who she was until she had an emotional breakdown on Twitter after the presidential election results came in last year)–feel free to advocate for a ‘White History Month’, when February rolls around.

Dig that here:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/02/01/victoria-jackson-snl-white-history-month_n_2599938.html?utm_hp_ref=women.

Personally, I thought that was a year-round event.  But I digress.

So to balance out that kind of rhetoric, I will be dedicating at least one entry a day to something or someone pertaining to Black History.  

Keep an eye on it.  You may be surprised.

Today, though, as I end this entry, I will go back and scour my Facebook timeline and click ‘like’ on as many of the pictures and statuses that I see that uplift us instead of another meme that starts off with ‘niggas be like’/’bitches be like’.

After all, we only get the okay once a year for 28 days.

Right?

Written by aceviewblogger

February 1, 2013 at 10:36 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. .
    Will someone please be so kind to inform Ms. Jackson
    of the fact that … ‘WHITE HISTORY MONTH’ IS held
    and celebrated EVERY OCTOBER (in the U.S.A.)?
    .
    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Generation-Mixed/message/4242.
    .
    Thus — the ‘whining’ (on all sides)
    can stop at anytime, thank you.
    .

    Allpeople Gifts

    February 11, 2013 at 1:48 am

  2. Ship I feel you bro.

    Anthony

    April 22, 2013 at 8:08 pm


Leave a Reply

