Ace's View

Dedicated to minority issues, topics and everything in between

Iota Profile #1: The Cinematic Centaur

with one comment

Editor’s Note: As the very first feature in my series, I wanted to pick a brother who not only do I know personally and was present on the night I joined Iota (and at several other events and times afterwards), but also someone who has made a contribution to the fraternity in one of my favorite mediums of historical preservation: a documentary.  So when he announced that he was working on a documentary covering the foundation of the fraternity, I applauded his effort and knew that if I ever got the opportunity to shine the spotlight on him, I would do so.

Well, today is that day.  Introducing Antron Rose.

Image

Please introduce yourself to the readers.

Antron L. Rose.  Line Name: THE INSANE ANIMAL-Alpha Beta (Southern Illinois University Edwardsville), Spring ’94, then on to Mu Omega (East St. Louis Alumni in ’97), Epsilon Omega Atlanta Alumni in 2001 and Charted Beta Psi Omega Decatur, GA Alumni in 2011.

What drew your interest to Iota Phi Theta?

What drew me to Iota was the sense of family.

What is your current job title/business, and why are you in that field?

My current position is filmmaker, and I chose this field because it is a passion of mine. So, why not work at something you love to do.

Please name one aspiration you hope to accomplish in the next 20 years.

I hope to accomplish [a] blockbuster hit before my lifetime ends. And that it becomes a great classic for other filmmakers to say it is what inspired them to make movies.

How has Iota helped you in your endeavors, personal or professional?

Iota gave me my first shot at making a Documentary. Iota believed in supporting me and encouraged me to push even harder to make my dream come true.

What would you say to anyone considering membership in Iota Phi Theta/Iota Sweethearts?

Iota is not just a fraternity, but a family of men.

Image

Rose’s documentary on Iota Phi Theta, No Ordinary Year, is available for purchase now on Ebay.  

Go here: http://www.ebay.com/itm/1963-No-Ordinary-Year-/190901183376?pt=US_DVD_HD_DVD_Blu_ray&hash=item2c7298e390

(Images courtesy of Antron L. Rose-Facebook)

Written by aceviewblogger

September 19, 2013 at 10:59 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bruh..when I showed your piece to the NPHC of Germany, so many were moved by our history and that can only be attributed to your creative vision of where we came from..thank you!!!

    taik915

    September 24, 2013 at 1:28 pm


Leave a Reply

