Ace's View

Dedicated to minority issues, topics and everything in between

Iota Profile #14: The World Is Mine

leave a comment »

Image

Editor’s Note: I remember this brother from our roadtrips to Carbondale, and the times that he made it to visit my chapter in Edwardsville.  As one of the most enthusiastic new members I’d met at the time when I met him in his neophyte days, his love for the organization and motivation to make Iota Phi Theta the best it could be has carried over into his work as a graphic designer and budding entrepreneur.

Between LOFTT WORLD Clothing (run with Anthony Russ and Laron Wash), and crafting designs for clients, this brother gets busy.

Meet Carl James.

Please introduce yourself to the readers.

Carl James.  Line Name: Executioner, Untouchable Upsilon (Mother of the Midwest) Chapter, (Southern Illinois University at Carbondale), Summer 2005.

What drew your interest to Iota Phi Theta?

The love I was given from a certain individual in the organization, we played ball at the rec center and always hung out. He always came over with this paddle and letters on and I was curious what this organization was all about. I had my mind made up of being in another organization.  But when I saw the cockiness and the stereotypes they were living up to, Iota Phi Theta drew me closer by being a collective organization, [combined] with the individualism that makes us who we are today.

What is your current job title/business, and why are you in that field?

I’m a freelance Graphic Designer. I make designs for several businesses, artists, organizations and for Nationals, like for the 50th Anniversary that just passed. I am currently coming out with a clothing line name LOFTT (Leaders OF The Trill World) Clothing with two brothers Anthony Russ & Laron Wash (support me please, at www.facebook.com/lofttworld) & also making Greek designs with my brother Laron Wash from SIU Carbondale at his Greek store. So I have BIG DREAMS!

Please name one aspiration you hope to accomplish in the next 20 years.

[To] own my own business & be financially secure, so that my kids will not have to struggle, like any parent [would] want for their next generation.

How has Iota helped you in your endeavors, personal or professional?

Well, networking (or I would be tiring my fingers out doing this, LOL!) Also, helping me through the good and the bad. They are always there when I need them.  I [got] a lot of perks and excitement from joining the organization.

What would you say to anyone considering membership in Iota Phi Theta/Iota Sweethearts?

Honestly, do your research first. I don’t bad talk any organization, at all. We are the fastest growing fraternity and because we are so young and part of the ‘Divine Nine’ that we get a lot of haters–and I LOVE HATERS!!!  They help us get stronger and build even faster. You can always be yourself and not live up to any stereotypes you hear about other organizations….If you enjoy building and working for a cause and not just living off riches, this is the organization for you.

Image

(Images courtesy of Carl James-Facebook)

Written by aceviewblogger

October 9, 2013 at 9:23 am

Leave a Reply

