Ace's View

Dedicated to minority issues, topics and everything in between

Iota Profile #16: Man On Fire

leave a comment »

j. mitchell1

(Editor’s Note: This young brother featured today joined the fraternity in Spring 2010 at the University of Missouri-Columbia. The reason this information is pertinent is that while there are those known as “t-shirt/letter wearers” in every Greek Letter organization, with Iota being no exception, this brother is definitely not one of them. Four years under his belt with the organization, and with a bright future ahead of him, Jake Mitchell serves both his country and his fraternity with great zeal and humility, and takes the motto of “Building A Tradition, Not Resting Upon One” to new levels.

Please introduce yourself to the readers.

Jake O. Mitchell, P.R.O.L.I.F.I.C. ( People Rarely Observe’s Life’s Intellect Fortunately I Can), University of Missouri-Columbia, Spring 2010.

What drew your interest to Iota Phi Theta?

I pledged Iota because I saw a chance to be and do something different. My line was the first Iota line to cross at the University in 10 years, it was an opportunity to directly affect the growth and development of an organization, as well as being a part of history.

What is your current job title/business, and why are you in that field?

I am currently getting ready to go back to school and am quite possibly getting ready to become a licensed insurer and finance broker. I was drawn to this field due to interest placed in me by several different companies who recently viewed my resume.

Please name one aspiration you hope to accomplish in the next 20 years.

One aspiration I hope to accomplish in the next 20 years is to become a JAG officer ( military lawyer) with the United States Marine Corps while also authoring several books, one of which I have already started on.

How has Iota helped you in your endeavors, personal or professional?

Iota has helped me in both my personal and professional endeavors. It has imparted many life lessons that I have found beneficial. It has taught me much about myself such as my strengths, my weaknesses, and overall what makes me who I am. It has influenced the way I carry and conduct myself in all aspects of life.

What would you say to anyone who is considering membership in Iota Phi Theta/Iota Sweethearts?

I would tell anyone considering membership to first make sure this is something truly in their heart. To be a part of this family is not to be taken lightly. Iota is still young and impressionable. Their membership in the organization can directly influence the image of the fraternity. Do not be afraid to be yourself while also carrying and promoting the tenets of the organization, it is the thing that makes Iota unique.

j.mitchell2

Written by aceviewblogger

August 4, 2014 at 6:54 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

