Ace's View

Dedicated to minority issues, topics and everything in between

Iota Profile #17: Certified Gold

leave a comment »

t.oduwole1

(Editor’s Note: Full disclosure: this will probably be one of two featured Iotas that I have not only had the pleasure of seeing transition through trials and tribulation into a positive, highly motivated young man–but one that I also had the opportunity to live with for about a year, where I witnessed his drive to be successful firsthand. Also a highly talented music artist with several songs available for download, Tosin Oduwole is adding another peg to an ever-growing and increasingly diverse resume: author.)

Please introduce yourself to the readers.

Hello, my name is Tosin Oduwole. I am 28 years old, born and raised in Saint Louis, MO. I am the second born of six boys to Nigerian parents. My goal in life is to bring finacial education to the forefront of my generation so we can begin to support each other in ways we have never before done.

What drew your interest to Iota Phi Theta?

My freshman year at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, I was privileged to meet a young man by the name of Marvin Mitchell, who was a very active student on campus and with student government and Greek Life. Upon researching the other frats that were on campus and going to informationals, I determined that the image I wanted to see of myself–not from others, but my own personal image–was that of a man who is rooted in the uplifting of himself and his community. Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc. exemplified that in exactly the way I saw fit.

What is your current job title/business, and why are you in that field?

Currently, I am the owner of a property investment firm based out of Hoboken, New Jersey, and an author. I am in my current field because it is what brings me joy. I wouldn’t call it a job because a job is something you are paid to do. However, I pay to do what I do because I love it. I pay with my time, I pay with my ideas, I pay with my labor. Not to mention I would still do what in doing even if I was not earning a living from it. That is how you find fulfillment in what you do, professionally.

Please name one aspiration you hope to accomplish in the next 20 years.

In the next twenty years there are many more than one aspiration I would like to achieve; however, the most significant would be to have a hand in positively changing as many lives along the way as I can. It doesn’t have to be in just business either, I want to pass along financial information as well as wisdom that can be used to become better men and women in our families and our communities at large, I would like to have mentored and been a friend to as many people as The Lord allows.

How has Iota helped you in your endeavors, personal or professional?

Iota has taught me so many things when it comes to carrying myself professionally. It has taught me how to be a businessman. The lessons I learned about profit and loss from throwing college parties was priceless. The importance of branding to attract potential investors is no more different from the branding you must do to attract potential members to be interested [in intake]. Iota has taught me to be outspoken and proactive, to not be afraid of taking a calculated risk if the potential reward is a worthwhile one. Everything that I do now is built on the foundation that Iota Phi Theta helped me lay. I am eternally grateful for the opportunity to have been a member of the Alpha Beta Chapter and grateful for the relationships built with brothers and sweethearts from surrounding chapters in Illinois and New Jersey.

What would you say to anyone considering membership in Iota Phi Theta/Iota Sweethearts?

My only advice would be to do it for more than just social benefits. Enjoy your college life and party, drink, have fun and do all the things you’re supposed to do in that stage in your life, but keep in mind that we should grow up and out of that stage to become leaders that extend the life of this fraternity forever, via the improvement of our communties in any way that one can contribute.

Tosin Oduwole’s

    The Wisdom To Grow Gold

is available in E-book format on Amazon.com for $7.00. The physical version is TBA. To purchase the book for download, go here.

t.oduwole2

Written by aceviewblogger

August 7, 2014 at 8:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

