Ace's View

Dedicated to minority issues, topics and everything in between

Open Letter #1: Marshawn Lynch

leave a comment »

Dear Mr. Lynch:

I want to start this off by making it clear and plain that I do not know you, nor have we met in life.  I have only been familiar with your on-the-field game over the past couple seasons as a Seattle Seahawk–and most recently, this season, was introduced to your off-the-field personality when a picture of you that someone took in a Seattle Starbucks surfaced.

Truthfully, wearing a hoodie emblazoned with “Fuck You” several times over on the back would probably not endear you to a whole lot of people.  And as taken aback by this as I initially was, I was also intrigued.

What is this man’s motivation, I wondered.

Then, the stories became more about your post-game interviews–or, lack thereof, I guess–and I started to notice a direct contrast in the way that the media portrayed you and your teammate Richard Sherman.

See, I’ve noticed that “they” call Sherman a “thug” because he is outspoken and opinionated.

These same folks call you a thug because of your refusal to speak on command.

And again, I will reiterate that I don’t know you personally, so I cannot and will not speculate on the reasons that you won’t do mainstream media interviews.

In my opinion, if you get paid to play a sport, the league being in your pocket because you won’t do interviews on command is one of the most asinine things I’ve ever heard of.  And I was completely unaware this was a rule until you had all of this controversy surrounding you.

Well, the press conference you did a few days ago confirmed that here is a man who is completely aware of his place in this world and that some people want to control what comes out of his mouth, and when.  But that doesn’t matter to a man who knows what he stands for and for who he plays the game for.

If I can find the clip of it, it’ll be posted right at the end of this sentence.

Allow me to paraphrase it, for those who can’t view the video: basically, beyond the people who really matter to you in this world (i.e., your family and close friends)–nothing really matters to you.  When you go home at night, there are no media.

No flashing lights.  No microphones.  No fanfare, no players or coaches.

Just you, in your world.  Surrounded by what’s really important: the people who you do this for.

And I respect that immensely, because I’m the same exact way.

So I will keep this short, brother, because I know that coming off of this tough-ass loss in one of the biggest games of your career is probably going to require being AWOL from Internet and what people are saying right now.  And perhaps you’ll never read this, but I want you to know a few things just in case this makes it to you:

First, I struggled with doing a series of open letters, because there are a lot of things that I want to say to people that are considered celebrities, but I was unsure of how they would be received.  You have definitely shown me that no one can control your message unless you let them.

Second, I’ll be posting this entry and going immediately to buy a Beast Mode hat or T-shirt.  You and your team may have lost a Super Bowl (this season, anyway) but you have definitely gained a fan in this brother from Maywood, Illinois.

Third, along those same lines: if you’re ever in my neck of the woods (Maywood being a suburb of Chicago, it’s pretty much the same damn thing–trust me) and doing that inner-city work with your charity that dude questioned you about during that recent press conference?  Let me know how I can be of service.

Definitely about that action, boss.

(And if you want to do an interview, I ain’t mad at that either.  Just throwing it out there. lol)

Finally–much respect to you on maintaining your blackness in a world where it is constantly harder each day to live as a black man.  I’m not one for hero worship (by a long shot) but it is nice to be able to turn on my television with my young son and be able to point to an athlete that actually stands for his people.  Shout out to my real Afrikans, for real.

Just thought I’d write this tonight, before I didn’t.

Peace and blessings to you.

Sincerely,

-Ace

Written by aceviewblogger

February 1, 2015 at 11:00 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

